By using our website, you agree to the use of our cookies.



  • days
  • Hours
  • Minutes
  • Seconds
🇳🇬 👍 🇳🇬
Umahi Inaugurates Lagos-Calabar Coastal Highway Section 1 Compensation Commitee, Gives 10 Days To Complete Assignment
Dave Umahi
Press Release

Umahi Inaugurates Lagos-Calabar Coastal Highway Section 1 Compensation Commitee, Gives 10 Days To Complete Assignment


1. In keeping with the established rules on compensation and the ideals of transparency of the Renewed Hope administration of His Excellency, President Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu GCFR, the Honourable Minister of Works, His Excellency Sen Engr Nweze David Umahi CON has constituted a commitee to review the report on the Environmental and Social Impact Assessment in respect of compensation for section 1, Lagos- Calabar Coastal Highway project. The committee made up of 19 members is required to interface with stakeholders and property owners that will be affected by the project with a view to recommending those who are entitled to receive compensation from Federal Government as required by law. The Honourable Minister directed that the commitee should work strictly with the terms of reference, which is to verify and authenticate the list of those to be compensated and submit a report within 10 days effective 18th April 2024. He said, “We are setting up a review committee to look at the work done by the Environmental and Social Impact Assessment (ESIA,) and the works to be reviewed by this committee is very simple, and it’s just to interact with the property owners that are going to be affected, and then in their presence, in the presence of the committee and the ESIA Consultant and the contractor, look at the compensation as enumerated to be paid, and where possible, you visit the site. We are using the federal rates to do our enumeration. I know very well that there is nobody that is ever enumerated that is ever satisfied with how much is to be paid, but we are bound by the law, and so we are using federal rates.”

2. The Honourable Minister promised to ensure a seemless and timely payment of compensation on the Lagos- Calabar Coastal Highway project but warned that only those legally entitled to compensation would be shortlisted. He said, “The moment the property owner signs, and then we have a form that we give to them to fill, and indicate the bank account; the moment that is done, within 72 hours, we authorize payment. The contractor is going to be paying directly to all those who are affected, and this we are committed to doing. This verification will start Wednesday in Lagos, and of course, we have to make it very clear that 250 meters legally belong to the Federal Government. So if you have a title within these 250 meters and it’s not a title from Federal Government, then it is encumbrance, and only Mr. President can give a waiver if he feels so for the person to be paid.”


3. The meeting which was held via zoom in the Honourable Minister’s conference hall Mabushi-Abuja with the affected property owners and other stakeholders, was in furtherance of the resolutions earlier reached in the stakeholders engagement meeting held by the Honourable Minister of Works in Lagos on 11th April 2024 whereof opinions were ventilated from different groups of stakeholders and decisions were reached on the need for a review of the report on the enumeration by the Consultant on the Environmental and Social Impact Assessment of the affected areas. The committee members were constituted to reflect the different groups of stakeholders, including Lagos State Government, affected Local Government Areas Traditional Rulers, estate developers and residents, as well as professional bodies.

4. The committee members are as follows:
1. Engr (Mrs) Olukorede Kesha (FCW, Lagos State) – Chairman
2. Rep. of Director, Bridges and Design. – Engr Oladele Sola
3. Rep of Honourable Minister of Works. – Barrister Joseph Ekumankama
4. Engr Olufemi Dare. – FMW, Lagos
5. ESIA Consultant. – Dr. Eugene Itua
6. Rep 1 ESIA. – Suv. Popoola Lateef
7. Rep 2 ESIA. – Emmanuel Eneh
8. Rep. of Oba Oniru. – Mr. Yemi Stephen.
9. Rep. of Oba Elegushi. – Mrs. Peju Omotayo
10. Rep. of Oba Ojomu of Ajiran land. – Hon. Jide Akintoye
11. Rep of Oba Onibeju of Ibeju – Mr Agbaje Adesegun
12. Rep. of Eti Osa Local Government. – Adeola Adetoro
13. Rep. of Ibeju Lekki Local Government. – Hon. Moruf Isah
14. Olawale Ojikutu (Min of Lands, LASG) – Secretary
15. Rep. Of LASG Surveyor General. – Moyosore Faji
16. Rep. Min of Physical Planning LASG. – Kunle Bello
17. Rep 1 Hitech. – Mr. Willie
18. Rep 2 Hitech. – Mr. Ashton
19. Rep DLS. – Mrs Igboko

Hon. Barr Orji Uchenna Orji
Special Adviser (Media) to the Honourable Minister of Works



Contents provided and/or opinions expressed here do not reflect the opinions of The Pacesetter Frontier Magazine or any employee thereof.

Support The Pacesetter Frontier Magazine

It takes a lot to get credible, true and reliable stories.

As a privately owned media outfit, we believe in setting the pace and leaving strides in time.

If you like what we do, you can donate a token to us here. Your support will ensure that the right news is put out there at all times, reaching an unlimited number of persons at no cost to them.


Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *